Back to Running!

5 Nov

So, after my surgery in September, my goal was to start running before the first snow fell here in New Hampshire.  I’m now on my third week back to running, no snow, and I’m feeling even better than I did before my surgery!

Since I was not able to do a lot of aerobic activity, and couldn’t (still can’t – but soon) lift weights, I relied on a lot of body weight strength exercises for my legs.

I feel like they’ve done me a lot of good, so I’m keeping them up!  Once I’m able to do work with my arms again, I will add in a day of arm strength a week too.

Eventually I’d like to join a gym again and get myself TOTALLY BUFF.

It’s made me so happy to be back to running.  It’s something I never thought I would enjoy, but I do, and I’m happy for it.

I don’t like being out in the cold much, but since I hate treadmills more (I have weird balance which makes me fall off of them.  A lot.), I’m trying to get myself a nice base of colder weather running clothes.

Here’s a nod to my favorites so far:

EMS Thunderhead Rain Jacket– This thing is great.  It has armpit vents and a hood with a bit of a brim on it, and it’s very lightweight.  I considered just running in the rain with a trash bag on me, but I think this was worth the money.  Went back and bought one for Paul for his birthday month (yes, birthdays last a whole month around here).

EMS WindBlast Vest – Also great!  I wore this on Sunday for a quick 2 mile run.  It was about 45F out with 12mph winds.  I put this vest on over my shirt and my core was so very comfortably warm.  So happy!  I probably could have worn capris instead of shorts, but my knees weren’t cold for long.  Also a birthday month gift for Paul, what a spoiled.

C9 by Champion 1/4 Zip Jacket – I WANT TO WEAR THIS ALL THE TIME.  I actually haven’t run in this yet, as I just bought it last night, but I tried it on and it is everything I want in a light running jacket.  Vented armpits, a vented back, a pocket that zips (!!!!!), and thumbholes.  $39.99 is a little pricey, but I’ve seen jackets like this at the fancy running stores for double the price or more.  Love love love.

Next up, I plan on getting some cold weather tights that I can wear 30F or below.  I have a pair of Saucony’s picked out, and I think they’ll do the trick.  But if anyone has any suggestions, send them my way!

Leave a Reply

