What I Ate Wednesday

18 Jul

Hey!  I’ve always liked going through random What I Ate Wednesday posts, so I thought I’d get in on the fun!

It hurts my brain a little that What I Ate Wednesday is not always things that people ate on Wednesday, blogged about on Wednesday, but rather things that people ate one day of the week, posted on Wednesday.

I get it, I get it.  Anyway, here is what I ate on Wednesday!

Food AND Fitness this month?  Well you don’t say!  Those are my favorite things!

My breakfasts rarely change.  They usually include a smoothie.  Here are today’s ingredients:

Yup, pretty simple.  I love my Nutribiotic protein powder.  I’m curious about Sun Warrior, though, so I might try that when this tub is finished.

So here’s my breakfast:

Smoothie and a small bowl of Kashi Go Lean with frozen blueberries and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  I’d rather be eating some sugary kids cereal, but you know.  Health!  Go Lean is actually pretty tasty.  And my breakfast water!  Water before coffee!

So I have a confession to make.  I don’t drink much coffee anymore.  I had surgery back in March, and I cut out caffeine and lots of other things to keep my post-op swelling down.  Since then, coffee just isn’t much of a thing.  But I went back to drinking a cup a day.  So, it may be gross, but I brew half a pot on one day, but it takes me two days to drink it.  Old coffee, is that gross?  It still tastes good to me:

I had an apple as a snack a little later.  I try to only snack on fruits if I get hungry between meals.  I almost forgot to snap a picture!

Lunchtime!  I usually have a salad for lunch.  My salads are INTENSE.  I’m actually running low on veggies at the moment, but I made do.  I topped it with dry-fried tofu (the BEST way to make tofu) that I had covered in a little bit of barbecue sauce, and two kinds of hummus.  Lentil and black bean!  And I had a glass of diet arnold palmer.  Yep, my life rocks.

Fruit Snack!

No, I didn’t eat a bag of Gushers.  Just a plate of delicious fruit.  Nectarine, pineapple (I opened a can just for the juice to use in a recipe last night, so we’re working our way through pineapple rings), kiwi and strawberries.  It was sad to leave the other fruits off of my plate.  Too many fruits!

As for the fitness, today was a longer short day – 4 miles!  Yesterday we had our planned short three miles, but the skies opened up and we worked on our sprinting to get back to the house.  So we only got two miles done.  But!  The first mile was my fastest continuous (not speed work) mile ever!  Whoop whoop.

Today, however, I just wasn’t feeling it.  I had a crummy day at work and all I wanted to do was roll around on the couch doing the woe is me type deal.  But I did get out and run four miles.  Not my fastest time ever, but not my slowest either.

Coming back into the house, all we wanted to do was scarf down the dinner I had made.  Paul had a work meeting all day with a catered lunch and didn’t get any veggies.  So he requested salads.  I already had my salad for the day, but another one wasn’t going to hurt me.  I had made a vegan crustless quiche (with homemade vegan sausage!) earlier in the day, and I was really craving one of the two egg rolls left in the fridge.  What a weird dinner.  The quiche was awesome, though, and I will post more about it later.

In our hungriness, all I got was this lousy photo:

And to end out the day, I bought presale tickets to see The Afghan Whigs at the House of Blues in Boston in September.  It’s sixteen days after I have my second and last surgery for the year, so I hope I’m up to it.  Ohh dear, Greg Dulli.

That’s my day!  What I Ate Wednesday is exhausting!

Leave a Reply

