Badwater, and Coconut Date Rolls

17 Jul

Rest days are turning into restless days.  I feel weird when I’m not running.  And even though it was a scheduled rest day and I tweaked my left ankle yesterday and it was about a million percent humidity today, I wished I was running. I guess that’s the way things go now!

I’ve been occupying myself with gardening, Breaking Bad, furniture assembly, and obsessively checking the Badwater Ultramarathon splits table.  While running Badwater is not something that I’d ever really want to do, I can’t not admit that the people racing are complete badasses.  But I never thought I’d be running at all, so who knows.

The other day Paul and I were discussing marathon and beyonds.  If I can push a marathon out of me (hopefully next year), I can probably get through a 50 miler or so at some point.  My body does all sorts of things I’d never imagined!

But I have to keep it fueled.  Aside from the milk allergy, I have a very sensitive belly.  My very sensitive belly does not take well to certain foods before a run.  i found out, the hard way, that bananas before running are not for me.  But everyone says they’re a great pre-running food!  Why am I so weird?  So I had to find another source of carbohydrates for a quick snack an hour or two before i run.  So I switched to dates.  They have carbs and potassium just like bananas, and they don’t make my belly hurt!  Great!  But I got bored.  So I bought these delicious date rolls from my local co-op.  I got maybe five of them in a container, and paid a pretty penny for them.  So I thought, I could create my own.  And so!

Coconut Date Nut Rolls

makes 15 – 18 rolls

Ingredients:

8 oz. pitted dates (any kind, I usually use medjool because they’re tasty)

1/2 cup slivered raw almonds

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, divided

Instructions:

This one’s easy.  Add the dates, almonds, and 1/2 cup of the coconut flakes to your food processor.  Process until it forms a big, sticky lump.  It’ll take a few minutes, don’t be discouraged if it doesn’t look very sticky at first.  If your dates are particularly dry, you might have to add a couple of tablespoons of water.

Once it’s done processing, form the dough into ping pong ball sized balls.  I get between 15 and 18 at a time.  Roll those balls between your hands to form a log, and roll that log into the reserved 1/4 cup of coconut.  That keeps the rolls from sticking together when you store them!

Keep the rolls in the fridge!  I keep them in a pyrex container, and they last at least two weeks that way.

I eat one an hour and a half or so before running, and they’ve done a good job of keeping me energized without tummy upset.  I haven’t tried keeping them in my pack for quick energy in the middle of a run, but I might try that instead of a Gu pack next time.  I do love my vanilla bean Gu, though.

3 Responses to “Badwater, and Coconut Date Rolls”

  1. Somer July 17, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    Dude, I’m obsessed with badwater. I only wish I was that awesome! Totally weird that bananas jack you up on the run. They are my favorite go-to before a run. I do however have “Elvis Toast” before every race, it’s peanut butter and banana on toast, but you could skip the banana part. I love dates and need to try your recipe with coconut. YUM!

    • energyanalysis July 17, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      Yeah Elvis toast is a great choice! Now I’m craving a banana with peanut butter smeared on it. Ah, it’ll have to wait until after my run!

      The date rolls will definitely be good without the coconut. I’m even thinking about throwing other dried fruits (cherries?) and maybe some oats in there next time.

      • Somer July 18, 2012 at 11:05 am #

        Oh, I love coconut, so I’m defo doing it that way! Oats, cherries, etc all sound nice!

Leave a Reply

