Spicy Peanut Tofu Burgers

18 Mar

Woah dang, I have successfully recreated a burger that I used to eat when meat did not gross me out so much.  Actually I not only recreated it, but I made it way better.

I would make turkey burgers with some finely chopped onion and A Taste of Thai Spicy Peanut Bake, which is like Shake ‘n’ Bake, only with peanuts and spices and lemongrass.  It made the usually dry ground turkey nice and moist and peanutty.

But you know, turkey.  Gross.

I know people have made burgers out of tofu, but I had absolutely no faith that I could create something that actually held together and wasn’t a big mess.  I decided to try anyway.  These baked burgers are fully of spicy peanut flavor, and the flour and fat from the peanut bake allowed for a nice brown crust despite not being fried.  The spice is balanced nicely with the grated sweet potato.  Like always, go ahead and fry them if that’s your thing.  But why would you if they look this good baked?

I’m convinced these would be delightful with a Sriracha/Nayonaise mixture, but since I’m out of both I topped my burger with some spicy barbecue sauce.  My combination made four good sized burgers and I froze two of them, so I’ll have to go shopping and try it.  I’ve heard that tofu burgers get firmer when frozen and reheated, just like plain tofu, so I’m interested in seeing how they are at a later date.  Even fresh out of the oven they held their shape when I lifted them out of the pan with a spatula.  My tofu burger fear went unrealized!

Spicy Peanut Tofu Burgers

makes 4 burgers

1/2 block firm tofu

1/2 small sweet potato, grated

1/2 small onion, grated

1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast

20 g A Taste of Thai Spicy Peanut Bake

1 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce

1) Squeeze as much water from the tofu as possible, and crumble in a medium bowl.  Add the grated sweet potato and onion and mix well.

2) Add the remaining ingredients and stir until combined.  Form into four burgers with your hands.

3) Cook on a lightly oiled baking sheet in a 350F oven for 20 minutes, flipping once.

4) EAT!

Leave a Reply

