Eggplant Ball Z

7 Mar

Guys, I really want to make a Dragon Ball Z joke but I actually know nothing about it.  I’ve come to realize just how geeky I am these days, but I guess it could always be worse.

But anyway, there are plenty of other ball jokes I could make, right?!

I wont.

I’ve had all sorts of meatless meatballs.  Some I’ve bought pre-made, many I’ve made myself with things like Gimme Lean or TVP.  I’m almost positive you could make them with lentils, but that is still on my list of things to try.  This time, I made them with eggplant!

Eggplant is one of my favorite vegetables.  As far as vegetables go it is not very nutritious, but it is a vegetable and it is low in calories and high in fiber.  It also sucks up a whole lot of oil, so it can easily be not very healthy at all.  Luckily, the eggplant balls I am going to share with you are made with minimal oil and the eggplant is softened mostly by steaming.  Sure, you could fry them instead of baking if you’re into that sort of thing.

They would make a good appetizer or even a strange version of eggplant parmesan if you want to use some fake or real cheese and a marinara sauce.  I served them with rice, a marinara sauce, and a green salad.  I would also recommend seasoning these to taste, as they would probably benefit from a mixture of spices that I didn’t think to use.  Or even a seasoned breadcrumb mixture, making sure you don’t choose one with cheese in it if you’re not into cheese.

Baked Eggplant Balls

makes 15 – 18 1″ balls

1 Tbsp. olive oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium eggplant, peeled and cubed

4 Tbsp. water, or as needed

2 prepared Ener-G egg replacer eggs, or equivalent egg substitute product

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

3/4 cup breadcrumbs

1 cup parsley, chopped

salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste

1) Heat oil in saucepan or skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook until just browned.

2) Add the eggplant and water.  Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook until the eggplant is softened, 20 – 30 minutes.  Add more water if needed.

3) Remove eggplant from heat and mash.  Add egg replacer, nutritional yeast, breadcrumbs, parsley, and seasonings.  Mix until well combined, adding more breadcrumbs if needed.  Place in fridge to cool for 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, pre-heat oven to 350F.

4) Form eggplant mixture into 1″ balls and place on greased cookie sheet.  Bake for about 30 minutes, until golden on the bottom.  Serve with marinara sauce!

Good looking balls, no?

Leave a Reply

