Where’d my sickeningly sweet tooth go?

1 Mar

I have a confession.

There was a time when I could polish off a good portion of a can of frosting all by myself.  I have put away a pound of gummy bears in under 24 hours.

I guess it’s not unheard of, but it is definitely gross.  My tastes have changed dramatically since I’ve lost those one hundred some-odd pounds.  To be honest, eating a can of frosting still sounds like it would be the greatest thing.  But in practice, not so much.

My favorite sweet now?  DATES.  I can’t pass the bulk bins at Wegmans (oh dear I miss Wegmans so much and I need to move back out to Western NY soon because I’ve been shopping at Price Chopper and it is not cool.  SO NOT COOL)  without loading up on them.  As much as I like dates in my baked goods, they usually never make it long enough for me to bake something with them.

I was determined this time, to make some date muffins.  This is a mish-mash of recipes that have all come together into one slightly sweet, crunchy yet still moist muffin.  The little bursts of apple and date make up for the fact that there is only 1/4 cup of brown sugar in the recipe.  I didn’t leave the bran cereal to sit in milk and soften this time, and I liked the crunchy texture it added.  But I don’t imagine it would change a thing if you like your cereal soggy.  I feared these muffins would be too dry.  Not so!  Yum!

Apple Date Bran Muffins

makes 12 muffins

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup bran cereal

1/3 cup dried dates, pitted and chopped

1 1/2 tsp. Ener-g egg replacer

2 Tbsp. water

2 Tbsp. canola oil

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup soy milk

1 cup apple (peeled if you want, I didn’t want!), diced

1) Pre-heat oven to 375F.  Spray 12 muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray or use liners.

2) In a medium bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and bran cereal.  Stir in the chopped dates.

3) In another bowl, prepare the egg replacer with the 2 Tbsp. water.  Add the canola oil and brown sugar, and whisk to combine.  Stir in soy milk and apple.

4) Add liquid ingredients to dry, and stir just until moistened.  Divide among the 12 muffin tins and bake 15 – 18 minutes.

5) Remove to cooling rack to cool completely.

One Response to “Where’d my sickeningly sweet tooth go?”

  1. fattydumpling March 2, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    These muffins look oddly delicious ;] Odd because they remind me of these Vietnamese coconut cookies that look like wee caterpillars one would find in the supermarket. Well, those look like caterpillars, these look like…not.

Leave a Reply

