Spicy Spiced Parsnip Soup

22 Jan

Bret forgot I was making soup and got all cranky about what he should eat for dinner last night.

1/21/2009 – Spicy Parsnip Soup.  Never forget.

I’ve been in love with parsnips for a very long time.  My nannie used to cook them and I couldn’t get enough.  As part of a soup, parsnips can be pretty overwhelming.  But this soup is supposed to taste like parsnips.  And it does!

This recipe came from Jane Spice, and I took a few liberties to make it into a full meal in a bowl.  Bret wanted brown rice with dinner instead of bread.  I love rice, and I love my rice cooker so we were on.  I also felt like the soup was more of a spiced parsnip soup than a spicy one, so we added sriracha.  Mmm, sriracha.  Here’s the recipe as I made it:

Spicy Spiced Parsnip Soup

Ingredients!

1 pound parsnips, peeled and sliced thinly

4 cups water

2 veggie bouillon cubes

2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed with the side of a knife

1/2 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp.  ground coriander

1/2 tsp. turmeric

1/4 tsp. chili powder

1 medium onion, chopped

1 celery stalk, chopped

1 Tbsp. canola oil

cooked rice and sriracha

Directions!

Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add the onion and celery and cook until softened.  Add the garlic cloves and spices and cook until fragrant.  Then add the parsnips, water, and bouillon cubes.

Bring to a boil and let simmer for about fifteen minutes, until the parsnips are soft.  Blend in batches or with an immersion blender.

Put some rice in a serving bowl, if you like.  Top with soup and mix.  Add sriracha to taste!  I like less, Bret likes LOTS.

Yum yum yum.  We both ate one bowl and were sufficiently stuffed.

– Ellen

Leave a Reply

