New Year’s Snacks: Pita Chips and White Bean Dip

1 Jan

Happy New Year!

Ellen and I went to a New Year’s party at our friends’ house. Since Ellen is more considerate than I am she asked if we could bring anything. The answer was yes – snacks! So Ellen decided to make white bean dip and I worried about what I should make and then decided on pita chips. They would go with just about any other dip that was served there, and especially with Ellen’s white bean dip.

So the way to make it it is easy. Take a pita, cut it in half. No, not into two half-moons. Cut it down the sides so that you have two discs. Now brush both sides with olive oil. Okay, now cut it into quarters, put it on a tray, and bake it for about 10 minutes at 375°. When the chips are crisp or crispyish, they’re done. I seasoned mine with garlic powder and coarse salt. They were good!

-Bret

Yeah New Year’s snacks!  Really, my consideration was just an excuse to make white bean dip, because I’ve really been craving it.  Plus the people that threw the party are some of the best hosts ever.  They always give us food and make tasty drinks whenever we’re there.  It makes me want to be a good host.  Maybe someday I’ll get a couch for my apartment and then have somewhere for people to sit and then I can start trying to be a good host.

But anyway!  I made dip!

White bean dips are pretty easy.

I took two 15oz. cans of cannellini beans, rinsed them and drained them and mixed them in my blender with three cloves of garlic, 2 tsp. of fresh rosemary, 1/2 cup of parsley, and the zest and juice of a lemon.  Then I whizzed it around in my blender until it was a dip.  If you have a better blender than I do, it will probably be ready really quickly.

It went perfectly with Bret’s pita chips!  Hooray for teamwork!

– Ellen

One Response to “New Year’s Snacks: Pita Chips and White Bean Dip”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rosemary Focaccia « Before It Was Poop - January 8, 2009

    […] I do love olives so I’m sure it will happen.  I had some leftover rosemary from making the white bean dip for the New Year’s party.  I love rosemary.  It was begging to be part of my […]

Leave a Reply

