Vegan Macaroni and Sheez

30 Dec

Hey two posts in a day. I’m trying to clear out my backlog of entries I wanted to make before the New Year, though. Ellen and I are talking about getting on some kind of consistent schedule since we are definitely making good food (last night was Tofurkey roast and I had an adventure making my own pizza sauce from fresh tomatoes and etc. etc.) and I’d like to do it with this New Year. We’re making some snacks for a New Year’s Eve party so maybe it’ll be about that. And then I go away for a week to meditate but I’ll be back.

But hey what does that have to do with vegan mac and sheez? Okay, so I have this book called The New Farm Vegetarian Cookbook that my original vegan mentor recommended to me a long time back. I made one recipe out of it that was pretty crappy and never looked at it afterwards. Well a little while ago Ellen picked it up and flipped through it and started talking about how awesome it was. She was right. It’s awesome. So I decided to try out the mac and not really cheese recipe. Okay, first of all, it’s really really rich and fatty. Second, it’s pretty dang tasty. I didn’t get any pictures of it in a bowl but check this out. That on top is not cheese. It was good. But yeah, it’ll be 2010 before I make it again.

 

 

-Bret

2 Responses to “Vegan Macaroni and Sheez”

  1. Imran February 24, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    Bret, I want to know how does the cheese taste??? And the texture? Sure does look like cheese. Is it easy? Thanks for sharing!

  2. pseudo February 24, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    The cheese is pretty tasty. It’s not really cheesy cheese but it is, you know, fatty. 🙂

    The texture is surprisingly cheeselike! It’s stringy and stuff.

    The recipe is not too hard.

Leave a Reply

