Chickpea Bulgur Pilaf

21 Sep

“Okay, so what is a pilaf?”  Bret asked me while I was finishing up cooking tonight.  I wasn’t sure.  Apparently, it depends on who you ask.  The internet has told me that it’s a dish where the grain is browned in oil first.  Then the internet told me that it’s a steamed rice dish with meat, vegetables, and seasoned broth.

I don’t know if what I cooked is a pilaf or not, but it was tasty.  I pulled this recipe out of an old, old Weight Watchers magazine, and I was looking for something pretty easy to cook for dinner tonight.

If people are still reading, we are still around.  I moved to Ithaca last weekend and started a new job last week and it’s been pretty super so far.  I didn’t want to neglect the ‘blog any longer, and I wanted to feed Bret.  So I did both.  Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients!

1 tsp. olive oil

1 cup sliced scallions

1/2 cup chopped celery

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 1/2 cups water with a veggie boullion cube dissolved in it

1 1/2 tsp curry powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 1/3 cup bulgur

15 oz. can chickpeas, drained

1/4 cup dried currants

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts

Directions!

Cook the scallions, celery and garlic in olive oil in a large pot until softened.  Add the spices, broth and bulgur and bring to a boil.  Turn off the heat, cover and let sit for about 30 minutes, until the water is absorbed.  Add in the chickpeas, currants and pine nuts and stir to combine.  Eat!

It was super easy to make, and the spices were just enough.  I tend to go overboard with cayenne sometimes, but it was plenty to leave a little bit of heat in my mouth without being overly spicy.

This makes a big pot full, Bret and I ate a bunch and I still have three servings of leftovers.  Mm!

– Ellen

One Response to “Chickpea Bulgur Pilaf”

  1. pseudo September 25, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    I’ve been neglecting the blog too. I’m sorry, blog!

Leave a Reply

