Two Soups!

8 Sep

I’m obsessed with soup.  I eat it almost every day.  Even during the summer.  Especially during this summer, because the office I work is so cold I could wear my winter coat if it still fit me.  I’m often sitting at my desk at around 2 or 3 in the afternoon, drinking a cup of tea and rubbing my hands together to get the blood flowing.

So anyway, bringing soup for lunch is good for getting my belly warmed up.  I like to make a pot over the weekend so I have it for lunch a good portion of the week.

I’m going to share the last two soups I made, but I promise to make something different and exciting next time.  Promise!

Soup #1: Lentil and Tomato Soup with Spinach

Ingredients!

4 cups water with a veggie bouillon cube dissolved in it

1 cup lentils

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 small green pepper, chopped

1 stalk celery, sliced

1 cup tomato sauce

1/4 cup salsa

10 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained

Directions!

Bring the broth to a boil with the lentils.  I heard somewhere that letting lentils boil rapidly for a minute or so before turning them down to simmer gets rid of whatever makes lentils give me mad gas, but whatever.   Simmer this until the lentils are tender.  It should take about a half hour.

Meanwhile, cook the onion, pepper and celery in a pan with the olive oil until they’re soft.

Add the veggies, tomato sauce and salsa to the lentils and mix it all up.  Let this simmer for another 30 minutes or so and add seasonings if you need to.  Then mix in the spinach and let it cook until it’s all warm.  Eat!

 

Soup #2: Caribbean Black Bean and Eggplant Soup

(I bastardized an already bastardized recipe.  But it was tasty!)

Ingredients!

1 Tbsp. canola oil

3/4 cup green pepper, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

1/2 cup celery, sliced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 1/2 tsp. cumin

3/4 tsp. allspice

1/2 tsp dried parsley

1/2 tsp. dried basil

1/4 tsp. salt

28 oz. canned whole tomatoes in puree

2 Tbsp. water

1 Tbsp. maple syrup

zest of one lime

1/2 large eggplant, peeled and cubed

1 cup black beans

as many dashes of hot sauce as you want

Directions!

Cook the onion, celery, green pepper and garlic in the oil for a few minutes, until they’re softened.  Mix in the dry spices and cook a few minutes longer.  Add the tomatoes (breaking them up), water, maple syrup and lime zest.  Bring that to a boil and cook about 15 minutes covered.  Then add in the eggplant and cook covered for another 10 minutes, until the eggplant is softened.  Mix in the black beans and hot sauce and cook until it’s warmed through.  It would be good over rice, or you could eat it as is like I did.

Soup!

– Ellen

Leave a Reply

