Balsamic White Bean Stuffed Patty Pan Squash

25 Aug

On Saturday I walked around the Saratoga Springs farmer’s market in awe.  I haven’t been to a good farmer’s market all summer, and I had forgotten how many farms we have around here.  I bought a load of stuff, but one of the things I was most excited about was the patty pan squash.  They’re definitely one of the cutest vegetables around.

And I wanted to stuff them with something.  I looked around at stuffed pepper recipes to see if anything looked like it might go well in squash, but I didn’t want to put a grain of any kind in them.  I was thinking white beans.  I think I saw a recipe for a baked white bean spread that sounded really tasty, and I decided on mashed white beans.

Here’s what I did!

Ingredients!

4 large-ish patty pan squash, washed and tops cut off

1 medium onion, chopped

1 cup white beans

salt, pepper and rosemary to taste

a splash of balsamic vinegar

Directions!

Slice the tops off of the squash and place them in a pot.  Add enough water to cover them about halfway and bring it to a boil.  Let it simmer for ten minutes or so, just until the squash is soft.  Take them out of the pot and let them cool a bit.

Oh yeah at this point you might want to preheat your oven to 375F.

Once the squash are cool enough to handle, scoop the flesh out so you’ve got an empty squash shell.  Be careful!  Chop the flesh up and saute it with the onion in a little olive oil or cooking spray.  Then add the beans and seasonings and cook until it’s all warmed through.  At this point, I took out my potato masher and started going at the beans.  I probably should have pre-mashed the beans because onions and squash bits just don’t like to mash like beans do.  So it was pretty chunky, but fine.  Add some balsamic vinegar and mix it all up.

Spoon that mixture back into the squash shells, put them in a baking pan, and cook for twenty minutes or so or until they’re a bit brown on top.

Admire how pretty they are!  And eat!

– Ellen

Leave a Reply

