Lentil and Apricot Soup

20 Aug

Soup! 

I love soup.  I love making big batches of soup and eating it all week for lunch.  And I’ve been doing that!

On Sunday I made up a big pot of lentil soup.  It was one of those things where I just dumped everything in my soup pot and let it cook.  It doesn’t look very impressive, but it’s really, really tasty.  I threw it in my blender to get it all smooth, but I suppose if you want it chunky you could chop up the apricots and any veggies you want in there.  I think I’d suggest using a lentil that doesn’t quite fall apart as much when it’s cooked if you’re not going to blend it, though.  Red lentils get really mushy.

 

Ingredients!

3 oz. red lentils, about a cup

3 oz. dried apricots

potatoes!  probably a little over a pound.  leave the skin on, it’s good for you!

5 cups of water and a veggie bouillon cube, or vegetable broth

1 1/2 tsp. cumin

1 Tbsp. dried parsley, or a handful of chopped fresh parsley

Directions!

Throw everything in a pot and give it a stir.  Cover it and bring it to a boil.  Turn down the heat and let it simmer for a half hour or so.  Then whiz it around in your blender, taste and add any other spices that you want.  I think I just threw in some black pepper.

So easy!  I like the mixture of cumin and the apricots a whole bunch.

– Ellen

Leave a Reply

