Vegan BLT Pizza

15 Aug

How on earth did I come by this idea? I think me and Ellen were looking for pizza ideas and I wanted to use veggie bacon, and then I found a recipe for meaty BLT pizza and I did that thing where I was like “Hey! Let’s veganize it!”

Okay, I’m not gonna lie. This was tasty. But it was something I might want to eat once every two years. If you’ve ever made something that’s heavy on dairy/meat substitutions you know what I’m talking about. But hey it looks pretty (and check out the green beans I grew in my garden!):

Ingredients!

1 whole wheat crust. The smaller kind, maybe 12 inches?

Vegenaise or some other mayo substitute

About half a block of veganrella or an equivalent amount of some soy or rice mozzarella substitute

About three or so slices of veggie bacon, ripped to shreds and scattered around

5 roma tomatoes cut into rounds and scattered around

A couple leaves of Romaine lettuce

Directions!

So, coat the pizza with a thin layer of vegenaise.  Chop you mozzarella substitute into chunks and sprinkle that around. Now add your bacon and tomato. Don’t add your lettuce! It’ll get gross in the oven!

Cook it in your oven at 450 degrees until the vegan mozzarella is melted and the bacon is crisp. Maybe 20 minutes or so. Once it’s done, take it out, scatter the lettuce on top, and then slice it up.

Like I said before, this might be a little to substitute/fat-heavy, but it’s really pretty good. Let me know if you try it out.

-Bret

Leave a Reply

