A Vegan Strawberry Birthday Pie for Ellen!

3 Aug

Ellen had a birthday! Happy birthday Ellen! I’m glad you were a fetus!

She asked for strawberry rhubarb pie which didn’t work out because I apparently missed rhubarb season (and my chance to make rhubarb crumble – argh!) but there’s still strawberries all over the place so there was a quick change in plans. I made strawberry pie!

For pie crust I used the recipe over at Almost Vegan. It was really flaky and good. When making pies in the future I’m going to recycle this recipe. However! I am no good at making pie with, like, a lid, so I ended up just taking what I had left and crumbling it over the top. That worked out fine. If I wanted to get fancy I could have made a lattice I guess, but know who makes lattices? Show-offs.

The filling is a modification of this recipe which you’ll see if you follow the link isn’t actually vegan if you’re a non-honey eating vegan. I’ve known some people who call themselves vegan and eat honey and that’s okay by me. But that’s not what we were doing and also we didn’t have rhubarb so this is what I did.

Ingredients!

1 pie shell

6 cups strawberries – you can slice them thin or thick or whatever. I just quartered them and that worked out great.

1 cup maple syrup

6 tablespoons arrowroot

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons flour

Directions!

So put all your strawberries into a colander and rinse them off. Once that’s done, put the colander over a big bowl. Pour the maple syrup over top of it and let it run into the bowl. Let it drain for a few minutes. If you’re using pure maple syrup that won’t take very long.

Take about half of that maple syrup and put it in a saucepan with the arrowroot. Heat it up on medium heat until it gets bubbly. Stir it up good and regular. It probably won’t thicken. That’s okay. It’ll do that later.

Preheat your oven to about 350 at this point. Mix your syrup and your strawberries together with the cinnamon and flour and toss it around with a spoon until its all even. Then pour it into the crust. Put on your lid or lattice or crumbles or whatever the Hell you decide to do.

Bake it for an hour. Pull it out, let it cool, then stick it in the fridge for a few hours to set. At this point it should be perfect.

Then eat it with a cute girl (or boy I guess) and a scoop of soy ice cream and watch a really bad Troma movie. The end!

-Bret

5 Responses to “A Vegan Strawberry Birthday Pie for Ellen!”

  1. sidi2u August 4, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    Happy Birthday, Ellen! What a great pie, Bret. Mmmm, I’ll give it a try for sure.

    P.S.Same sign, my b-day was last Sunday.

  2. shreyas August 5, 2008 at 2:37 am #

    Bret I want to eat pie with you but your use of parentheses makes me feel like you are not interested in this activity!

    Where do I get arrowroot?

  3. gillan August 7, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    I would eat pie with you!

    Arrowroot can be found in all sorts of hippie stores and co-ops and super-big grocery stores. It’d be in the bulk or spices sections.

  4. Amber August 7, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    Holy cow that pie looks amazing!!

    Happy Bday Ellen!

  5. energyanalysis August 11, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    Thank you for happy birthdays, people!

    And happy late birthday to you Sidi! 🙂

    The pie tasted holy cow amazing 😮 😮

Leave a Reply

