Vegetable Vindaloo at India House: Victor, NY

22 Jul

I’m back from a week of traveling, and boy is my stomach tired. I ate a lot. So much, in fact, that I should maybe lose some weight. I’ve started exercising and paying attention to how much I eat and maybe someday I’ll be skinny again. But anyways, this isn’t a weight loss blog!

When I was in Rochester for a business trip, I found this place called India House near my hotel in Victor. I went there and it was really nice. The dining area was wide open, and get this – the menu had vegetable vindaloo on it. I have only ever seen vindaloo with meat chunks, so I got really excited and ordered it with some guava juice and chapati.

It was mostly cauliflower with some other stuff. Potatoes I think. Anyway, I need to find a recipe for vegetable vindaloo since it had never even occurred to me and I like it so much.

The guava juice was also really, really good. It tasted kind of metallic like it came out of a can, but since I’ve never had guava juice I couldn’t tell you if it’s supposed to taste like that. That wasn’t bad at all, though. It was still tasty.

So yeah, if you know of any good vegetable vindaloo recipes let me know!

-Bret

2 Responses to “Vegetable Vindaloo at India House: Victor, NY”

  1. energyanalysis July 23, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    Now I’ve never made vindaloo before but I think it normally has to do with braising some kind of meat in a red wine sauce with lots of spices.

    But it just popped into my head that maybe you could roast some veggies and make up a vindaloo paste/sauce to add to them halfway through or something.

    The veggies would get all sweet from being roasted and then the sauce would be all spicy and awesome.

  2. gillan July 24, 2008 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh my. That definitely sounds good.

Leave a Reply

