Scrambled Tofu and Kale

23 Jun

No, not together.  Separately.  Although I was tempted to throw some kale into my breakfast.  Next time!

On Saturday I had a huge craving for foods that make me feel good.  What I eat affects my entire body, and it probably does for everyone but I don’t think everyone realizes that. 

I made myself scrambled tofu for breakfast, and I’m not including the recipe because I really don’t have one.  I’ll pick whatever vegetables I have around (this time it was zucchini, onion and tomato) and add in spices (turmeric, cumin, paprika, sage…salt, I can’t remember what else) and then crumble in tofu and cook it all up.  Oh and a couple of dashes of hot sauce.

Don’t tell Bret, but I think my scrambled tofu is better than his.  Maybe I’ll make it for him and see what he thinks.

 

So that was breakfast.  Lunch was pretty uneventful, but I had some ideas for dinner.  My town’s Farmer’s Market started just recently, and I was able to stop there after work on Thursday.  I got really excited and bought a lot.  My prized purchase was a big bunch of kale.  I love kale, and I told the guy I bought it from how much I love kale.  He loves kale too.

I wanted to keep it pretty simple so I chopped it up, getting rid of the stems and parboiled it in salted water for about ten minutes or so.  I drained it once it had softened up a bit and set it aside while I cooked up some onion and garlic.  Then I added the kale to the pan with the onion and garlic, added in some white beans, ginger juice, tamari and some crushed red pepper.  And it was very tasty with some whole wheat couscous.  See!

I definitely have a kale supplier for the summer.  I’ll be making this again!

-Ellen

One Response to “Scrambled Tofu and Kale”

  1. gillan July 7, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Yours was better, but I was rusty! It’s been a long time since I made it. :-/

Leave a Reply

