Pineapple Quinoa Salad

12 Jun

So I have nothing to blame my lack of posts on but complete laziness.  I’ve been cooking and eating, but not posting.  So it’s time to catch up.

Last week I was feeling like I should cook with things in my cabinets that I don’t touch as often as I should.  I settled on the almost full bag of quinoa that I had sitting around.  I really like quinoa.  But I hardly ever find myself in the mood to cook with it, or hardly ever find recipes that use it.  But I think I’m going to use it more often, because it is a great source of protein and fiber.

I based my recipe on a Weight Watcher’s recipe.  Before anyone stops reading, I’ve cooked Weight Watchers food for people before with no complaints.  I mean, diet-ish food doesn’t have to be chicken marinated in fat free salad dressing or whatever silly things people eat.

So I didn’t have everything I needed to make the recipe as it was written, and it was a warm dish and I wanted something cool, so I messed around with it a little bit and did this:

Ingredients!

2 cups water

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup quinoa, rinsed a whole bunch in a fine mesh sieve

1 Tbsp. olive oil

about 3 carrots, shredded

1/2 cup scallions, sliced

2 tsp. fresh ginger, chopped

1/2 cup pineapple juice

1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions!

Bring the water and salt to a boil and add the quinoa.  Lower the heat and let it simmer for about fifteen minutes or so.  Drain off any leftover water if there is any.

While the quinoa’s cooking, heat the olive oil in a pan and add the carrots, ginger and scallions.  Cook them for a minute or so, just to soften up the carrots a bit.  Add in the quinoa and mix it all up.  Add in the pineapple juice and the cilantro and transfer to a bowl.   Eat it right then and there or let it sit in the fridge to get cold!

I got four good sized servings out of it.  And I added more than 1/3 cup of cilantro I think, I didn’t really measure.  So add less if you’re one of those weirdos that doesn’t like cilantro that much.

The original recipe called for orange juice, but I didn’t have oranges and had leftover pineapple juice from drinks that I had made.  So, use whatever juice you want!

– Ellen

2 Responses to “Pineapple Quinoa Salad”

  1. Michael June 20, 2008 at 1:32 am #

    Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe- I’m the same way with quinoa. I like it but don’t cook it that often so its good to have more options in using it
    I do make something similar to this: http://meganprusynski.greenoptions.com/2007/06/09/weekend-grub-curried-lentils-quinoa-with-veggies/ every once in a while, and it’s quite good.

  2. energyanalysis June 20, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Oh nice! That does sound really good, and a use for my also neglected bag of red lentils 🙂

Leave a Reply

