Pasta with Vodka Tomato Sauce

15 May

I like booze so much that when I’m not drinking it, I want to be eating it.

Just kidding. Booze is great, though.

I really, really like pasta with vodka sauce. In most cases it is very fattening. Which is fine, but not good for everyday eatings. So I decided to make my own.

Ingredients!

6 oz. pasta (I used wheat pasta because that’s what I eat)

salt

1/2 Tbsp. olive oil

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 minced garlic cloves

a hearty shake of crushed red pepper flakes

a few fresh basil leaves

3 Tbsp. vodka (which is 1 1/2 oz, which is a jigger! jigger what?!)

14 oz. can of whole tomatoes, drained and diced

1/4 – 1/3 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (I used almond, and closer to a 1/4 cup)

Directions!

Cook the pasta in salted water, and set aside. While it’s cooking, heat the olive oil in a saucepan or skillet. Cook the onion and garlic until soft. Add in the basil, pepper flakes and vodka. Cook for a couple of minutes. Add in the diced up tomatoes and bring to a simmer. Turn the heat down to low, cover the pan, and let it simmer for 15 minutes. Turn off the heat and stir in the milk. Season with salt and pepper. Mix the pasta with the sauce and serve!

It makes about three pretty huge servings.

So it makes a light and garlicy and spicy sauce. I had some asparagus and grape tomatoes hanging around, so I sauteed those and added them to the sauce. It’s not your regular indulgent vodka sauce, but it was pretty darn good. And looks pretty, too. The asparagus makes it look like Spring.

If you want it creamier, soy cream might work. I mean, as long as you don’t use the French vanilla stuff.

I’m submitting this post to the Presto Pasta Night roundup for this week!  There’s always yummy foods to look at there.

– Ellen

9 Responses to “Pasta with Vodka Tomato Sauce”

  1. Ruth May 16, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    Ellen, welcome to Presto Pasta Night and if this is any indication, I’m hoping you send many more to the roundup! It looks awesome.

  2. sidi2u May 16, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    Bloooody Mery and pasta. That’s the fastest way to get fed and drunk. 🙂

  3. gillan May 19, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    I have to start publicizing my recipes more. You make our hits go flying.

  4. energyanalysis May 19, 2008 at 5:55 pm #

    I’m way poopular.

  5. sidi2u May 21, 2008 at 7:03 am #

    Come on, guys, didn’t hear from you for too long now. Vacationing?

  6. energyanalysis May 21, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    We have a bunch of foods from over the weekend to write about. I’m gonna get started today. We ate A LOT. 🙂

  7. sidi2u May 21, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    And drank in the same time? I’m just kidding. Awaiting your posts.

  8. gillan May 22, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    There was a couple bottles of wine in there.

  9. sidi2u May 22, 2008 at 8:05 pm #

    I gotta see a doctor. Why can’t I enjoy wine like everybody else does?

Leave a Reply

