Tofu Frittata with Sun Dried Tomatoes and Asparagus

12 May

So, the first time that Bret and I met he brought me a batch of blueberry scones.  The recipe came from Vegan with a Vengeance.  Now, I’m sure sometime in my youth I was told not to accept foods from strangers, but he’s really not all that sketchy and I like scones a whole bunch.  He assured me that they weren’t poison.  I believed him.  So I ate the whole batch of scones, and they were mad tasty.  I was pretty sure that this cookbook was a good one to have.

I had a flip through Bret’s copy and found a bunch of recipes that I wanted to make.  One of the first recipes in the book is for a tofu frittata, which Bret has made and said was really good.  It sounded really good.

So I ordered my own copy, and the day it came I had to make something.    Well, I plan on making everything.  But because the frittata sounded awesome and had a good rating from Bret, I decided to go for it.

I checked the Post Punk Kitchen website to see if this is a recipe they’ve posted.  Since it’s not, I feel not right about copying it.  So I’ll talk about it a bit.

A frittata is a big open-faced omelet that you cook mostly in the oven, right?  Omelets have eggs, no?  Eggs are kind grody if you ask me.  And while this frittata looks like it has eggs in it, it doesn’t.  Nor does it really taste like eggs.  I don’t eat meat because I don’t really like the taste of it, so I’m not really one to try to make things taste like things that I’d rather not eat (I’ll eat a veggie burger or a veggie dog or whatever, not because I want something that tastes like a hamburger or hotdog, but because I like the way veggie burgers and dogs taste.  Or whatever).

So, this tastes like tasty.  It’s a mix of tofu, nutritional yeast, sun dried tomatoes, onions, asparagus and seasonings to make it taste wonderful.

I don’t own a cast iron skillet, or any kind of oven-proof pan, so I had to bake it in a pie plate.  And that’s just fine, but I think it would have gotten more brown and set up a little nicer if I had one.  I’m in the market for some cast iron, for sure.

I cooked this right before I had to go out on Friday night, so I didn’t even get to try any when it was straight out of the oven.  I had some cold and I had some reheated, and I have to say this tastes wonderful cold or room temperature.  But I’m going to make another one and try it freshly cooked and warm.  There are a few variations in the cookbook, and I think I may try the one with olives next.

I just had it with salad and the rest of Bret’s grandma’s beets (Bret should have his grandma blog about her beets), but hash browns would have gone way awesome with this.

-Ellen

4 Responses to “Tofu Frittata with Sun Dried Tomatoes and Asparagus”

  1. gillan May 13, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    How did it hold together? Egg frittata sticks together really well, but whenever I make this it’s crumbly. Which is fine! It still tastes great. But it’d have a nicer presentation if it stayed in the nice wedges that I sliced it into.

  2. energyanalysis May 13, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    I had to be careful, but it didn’t fall apart on me. It probably would have if I tried to cut it right out of the oven. And I think cutting it into smallish pieces would probably work best. I dunno! It is totally tasty, though.

  3. sidi2u May 14, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    Una frittata, por favor. Hmmm, it looks delish!

  4. Jbo December 8, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    Coming from an attorney, you cannot copyright a recipe since it is just a list of ingrediants!

Leave a Reply

