Black Bean Salad and Yellow (Brown) Spanish Rice

6 May

So, while I was visiting Bret, we tried to make enchiladas to celebrate an early Cinco de Mayo.  They were edible, but not something we were going to speak of again.

Still, I was determined to make something Cinco de Mayo-ish.  So I used my brains to come up with a rice and beans recipe.  My brains ended up making something that was a little more Caribbean than Tex-Mex, but it was still super tasty.

Rice Ingredients!

1 cup brown basmati rice

2 cups water

1/4 cup salsa

1 vegetable boullion cube

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 medium tomato

Rice Directions!

So mix everything except for the tomato in a pot and cook it until the rice is almost done.  At the last five minutes or so, chop up the tomato and add it in.  Set the rice aside.

Bean Salad Ingredients!

15oz. can of black beans, drained

juice from two limes

1 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

Bean Salad Directions!

Uh, mix everything up.  It’s probably best to let it sit in the fridge for a while to let the flavors mix, but I was hungry and ate it right away.

I mixed some pineapple with cilantro from my cilantro plant and had that with it.

After letting the salad sit for a few hours, the lime juice was a lot less jarring.  It made for a simple and quick dinner on a busy day.

If I make rice like this again I’m adding cayenne.  You might also want to add salt and pepper to it but I liked it without.

– Ellen

6 Responses to “Black Bean Salad and Yellow (Brown) Spanish Rice”

  1. gillan May 6, 2008 at 4:33 pm #

    You were holding out on me, Ell-train.

  2. energyanalysis May 6, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    I don’t give everything up my second time cooking with a boy. What kind of girl do you think I am?

  3. sidi2u May 6, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    I tried to leave a comment on livejournal.com and couldn’t. Nothing important, just that You, guys, are really good friends, more like brothers. I like your relation!

  4. energyanalysis May 7, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    😀 Bret’s totally my broheim.

  5. gillan May 7, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Hehe.

  6. sidi2u May 7, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    Broheim, that’s a good word. Way to go, guys!

Leave a Reply

