Kidney Bean and Prune Stew

28 Apr

Ewww, prunes!

They totally get a bad rap.  Other dried fruits are fine, but prunes?  Only old people and babies eat them, amiright?

Naw, I eat them, too.  Well actually, I don’t.  But I did.  I had this recipe in the back of my head for a while.  It came from a Heart of the Matter roundup a while ago, and I’ve been meaning to make it.  Except I never really have prunes hanging around.  But I went out shopping, saw prunes, and decided to purchase a box and make this recipe.

I dunno, something about kidney beans and prunes cooked in a spicy tomato sauce sounds strangely appealing to me.  And it was strangely delicious.  It’s not so totally weird, I think prunes show up a bit in Middle Eastern stews and things.  But usually with some sort of weird meat.  No weird meat here. 

Ingredients!

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1/2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp sriracha or some chopped up fresh chili pepper

15 oz. can of kidney beans

14 1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes

2 tsp. tomato paste

1/2 cup pitted prunes, cut in half

1/3 cup water

cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper to taste

Directions!

Heat the oil in a large skillet or pot over medium heat.  Add in the onion and saute until it’s browned.  Add in the garlic, cumin and sriracha and cook another minute or so.  Add in the mushrooms and cook another minute or so.

Dump in the rest of the ingredients other than the seasonings and bring it to a boil.  Once it’s all bubbling, turn the heat down to low, cover it and let it simmer for a half hour or so.  Then taste it and add what you need to add.  The prunes are gonna make things a bit sweet, so I added a nice, hefty shake of cayenne.  Cook a little bit longer and eat!

I ate mine over barley.  I had leftovers for lunch just by itself.  Like any stew, it’s much more tasty the next day.  Mm, leftovers!

I was very happy with the results! 

But what should I do with all these left over prunes?

– Ellen

3 Responses to “Kidney Bean and Prune Stew”

  1. Celine April 28, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    I have a strange fondness for prunes and beans myself. we’re both weird?

  2. gillan April 28, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    WEIRDOS

  3. sidi2u April 28, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Make sure you reseal the container tightly to prevent the prunes from losing moisture.

    Beans, I love, prunes, not really…

Leave a Reply

