The Salty Chihuahua

25 Apr

Arf!

I used to think mixed drinks were just for girly girls and people that don’t know good beer. But then I realized that making mixed drinks is really, really fun. I have aspirations to take a bartending course and be a part time bartender. It might happen someday. Until then, I just like to hone my skills and share drinks with my friends.

So Lost was new last night. So I had a couple of people over to watch it on my super awesome 13″ television.

And I made drinks. I made Salty Chihuahuas!

I made each one individually, but really this drink is good for making a big pitcher and just pouring into your glass when you want some. Tequila is good for summertime, and this is a super summertime drink. Salt is good for tequila, and grapefruit and Cointreau are just plain good.

So, for each drink, take an old-fashioned glass and rub the rim with a bit of grapefruit. You could also use cocktail glasses or even big tumblers (and make it a double!). Coat the rim of the glass is coarse salt and let it dry.

Put ice in all the glasses. Pour 1/2 oz. Cointreau and 1 oz. tequila into each glass. Add grapefruit juice to fill, and mix. Garnish it with a bit of grapefruit and drinky-drink!

I used a bottled grapefruit juice because I wanted a little more sweet than tart. But if you’re feeling fancy, juice yourself up some grapefruits.

As a plus, one of these drinks gives you more than your daily recommended amount of vitamin C!

Another plus – having a bottle of Cointreau on hand is good for things other than drinks. It makes a nice orange flavored icing.

Good drinks, and a good episode of Lost. They definitely made the lollerific parts of the show even better.

– Ellen

2 Responses to “The Salty Chihuahua”

  1. sidi2u April 25, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    I love cocktails, but on the beach, only. Cuban beach (because it’s all inclusive ??? πŸ˜‰ ). June 1st to June 8th. Can’t wait!

  2. energyanalysis April 28, 2008 at 8:47 am #

    Well okay, cocktails on the beach sound much much better than cocktails on my couch watching Lost. Boo! Have fun πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

