My Three Favorite Ice Creams

21 Apr

Okay, there is absolutely nothing non-dairy about this post.

It’s all about ice cream.  The real stuff.

There are three ice cream shops/brands that I will never, ever pass up.

  • Herrell’s– Northampton, MA.  Steve Herrell is the god of ice cream.  Deciding on a flavor is difficult here, there’s so many (I mean, where else can you get key lime cardamom ice cream?).  But even if it’s the dead of winter, I won’t pass Herrell’s without going in for a cone and to say hi to the happy, plastic bears.
  • Farmer’s Daughter – Schuylerville, NY.  This is a little drive-in grill/ice cream shop in the middle of nowhere.  I actually don’t know much about Farmer’s Daughter, other than that it has been around for a really long time.  My mother went there a lot when she was a kid.  Not that I’m calling her old or anything.  But they make their own hard ice cream and it’s glorious.  My mother and I went there over the weekend to have lunch and ice cream.  The food is just regular grill food, I had a veggie burger and she had a grilled cheese and we shared a basket of sweet potato fries.  We were stuffed, but couldn’t leave without having ice cream.  We stared at the menu board for a long, long time.  I decided on a small cone of Chocolate in my Peanut Butter and my mom picked a medium cone (it was huge!) of Maple Walnut.  And then we sat out back on a cow patterned picnic bench and ate.

I made the wrong ice cream decision, as it wasn’t nearly as peanut buttery as I expected.  But it was creamy and icy, and I gobbled it right down.

  • Perry’s Ice Cream – Based out of Western New York, but I think they have a pretty wide distribution.  This ice cream, along with having a Taco Bell and a Pizza Hut right across from my dorm, was one of the major reasons I gained so much weight in college.  But I don’t hold it against them.  Back then, my favorite was Mint Ting-a-Ling.  As a large scale manufacturer, Perry’s is impressive.  If it’s from an ice cream stand or a supermarket, it always tastes fresh. 

 Ice cream!  Spring and summer!  Hooray!

– Ellen

Bret’s Notes: Arr, I’m boarding Ellen’s post because I had an experience over the weekend that was too appropriate here. I went to visit some friends in Burlington, New Jersey and they took me to the Ummm Ice Cream parlor which makes its own ice cream on the premises. I got plain vanilla and it was the most creamiest best ice cream I’ve had in memory. At some point in my life I decided that the best way to tell the quality of something is to consume it in its simplest state. Like black coffee. You can’t really tell if coffee is good or not if you’re dumping tons of milk and sugar into it. So I’m like that with ice cream – vanilla’s generally the best way to judge an ice cream’s quality. And holy wow. It was good.

You may notice from the picture below that I nomnommed on the top of it before I remembered that I should take a picture. That’s how excited I was. Oh and there was a dude behind the counter who was really nice to us. That always helps a lot.

3 Responses to “My Three Favorite Ice Creams”

  1. sidi2u April 21, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    I am the weird one, don’t like icecream… It weird, right?

  2. gillan April 22, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    It’s unusual! That’s okay though!

  3. energyanalysis April 22, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    It is okay. I’ll just eat your share!

Leave a Reply

