Frozen Tofu is Most Best

16 Apr

I bought two blocks of tofu right before I left town for a week on a work trip. I knew they wouldn’t go bad, but I decided to throw one block into the freezer so I could do fun things with it when I got back home.

When I got home from Pittsburgh, I looked at the block of tofu in my freezer and considered my options. I could

  1. Plant it in my backyard and hope for a tofu tree
  2. Dress it up in a cute outfit and have a tea party
  3. Make it into grilled tofu sandwiches

I was pretty hungry, and didn’t really want to wait around for my tofu tree. Nor could I be rude enough to eat someone I’ve invited to a tea party. So I went with the sandwiches.

I started cooking tofu about five years ago. My first experience with it was a big mess of mushy tofu and five spice powder. Lessons were learned, including the difference between silken and firm tofu and that it has to be well drained and pressed. You don’t need to tell me more than four or five times.

So yadda yadda, I feel as if I’m experienced with tofu. The texture changes once you freeze and defrost tofu. It’s chewy and porous and much more firm. Perfect for sandwiches!

What I did was basic. It was just me eating, so there was no need for anything fancypants. I marinated the frozen, defrosted, drained, sliced, pressed tofu in barbecue sauce. Grilled it on my George Foreman Lean Mean Fat-Reducing Grilling Machine. Caramelized some onions. Wrapped it in a flatbread. Made a simple green salad. Ate!

This tofu's all up in my grill

-Ellen

6 Responses to “Frozen Tofu is Most Best”

  1. Elizabeth April 17, 2008 at 5:31 am #

    That’s…brilliant. And it sounds delicious.

  2. gillan April 17, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    I wonder if this would work out okay on a non-Foreman grill. It’s that time of year!

  3. energyanalysis April 17, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    I don’t see why not! It would probably be even better on a real grill. But I don’t have one of those. I do take ol’ George out on my balcony sometimes, though.

  4. Amber April 17, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Forgive this silly question, but I am not very tofu savvy and have also had several bad experiences with it- to the point where I don’t think I even like tofu – but this recipe sounds yummy. How do you press tofu? I could make a pretty good educated guess, but you seem to have a great handle on your tofu, so I’d rather hear how you do it.

    Thanks!

  5. energyanalysis April 17, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    Hey Amber! Yeah, you pretty much do what you think you’d do. I normally slice the tofu about 1″ thick and lay it between layers of paper towels or kitchen towels. Then I’ll put a big heavy frying pan or a cutting board on top of it to press the water out. Fifteen or twenty minutes or so usually does the trick. Yep!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Barbeque » Frozen Tofu is Most Best - April 16, 2008

    […] Healthy food recipes wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI bought two blocks of tofu right before I left town for a week on a work trip. I knew they wouldn’t go bad, but I decided to throw one block into the freezer so I could do fun things with it when I got back home. When I got home from Pittsburgh, I looked at the block of tofu in my freezer and considered my options. I could […]

Leave a Reply

