Chili Beans with Onions and Sweet Chili Sauce

16 Apr

My grandmother likes to give me fuckloads of food. If I go visit her I always seem to leave with a box full of mason jars and then inside those mason jars is food. The problem is that the mason jars always contain one type of very specific food. Once it was applesauce. Another time it was sauerkraut. Then it was pickled beets. This time? Chili sauce that my grandpa made.

So what the eff am I going to do with all this crazy chili sauce? “Put it on hot dogs!” my grandpa said. NO. NO TO HOT DOGS. I mean maybe I could get some of those veggie dog things but I figure like most mock meats they’re more expensive than they need to be and maybe they taste funny. I can do mock meats every so often but I’d rather do beans or fruit or veggies or soy.

Did I mention I’m broke? I’m broke. I bought an accordion recently and I’m really happy about that and I bought a t-shirt that has a shark high-fiving a gorilla on it and I’m happy about that too and I bought Electroplankton for the Nintendo DS and if Play-Asia ever ships it I’ll be happy about that as well. Buuut… now I’m broke. So! I made do with things I had on hand. Chili beans! Leftover shallots! Chili sauce! I did buy the potato but that’s okay.

Chili Beans with Onions and Chili Sauce!

Ingredients!

1 tablespoon oil

1 15 oz. can of chili beans of some sort

1/2 onion, chopped – I used two shallots and if you like shallots a bunch maybe you could too

1/4 cup of sweet chili sauce

red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper or maybe a habanero pepper

sour cream or your favorite sour cream substitute

Directions!

Okay, so this is a super-simple recipe that is barely worth talking about, but basically heat your oil in your skillet. Drop in your onions and cook them until they’re translucent. Now add your beans and your chili sauce and, if you’re feeling brave, a habanero pepper. If you’re not habanero brave (and I don’t always feel habanero brave) you can add cayenne or red pepper flakes to your taste. Let it cook and bubble until it’s nice and hot. Okay, now you can serve it! I ate it over a baked potato but I bet it would also taste good served over a crusty roll or rice. Add a dollop of sour cream-ish stuff! I need to work on my dolloping skills because the dollop in the picture? Not very pretty. But it tasted good!

I’m going to try to get the recipe for my grandpa’s chili sauce because it’s real good!

-Bret

Leave a Reply

